Databases


Complete List of Databases (A-Z)

Last Updated 2018/05/23

Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to.  They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet.  You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases. Academic Search Elite – Full-text articles from over 1,000 journals, covering a range of topics, including business, social sciences, general science, and multiculturalism. Ancestry


Statistics

Last Updated 2013/12/05

British Columbia Statistics – the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia. They offer data services, business and economic statistics, labour and social statistics, population stats, and survey and analysis. The World Bank – The Data Catalogue provides download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources. DataBC – Provided by


Law & Government

Last Updated 2016/04/14

Library Databases Our databases have lots of information from trusted sources that’s typically not available through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log in. British Columbia Codes (in Library Use Only) – Includes the current BC Building Code (including Plumbing Services) and the BC Fire Code. House of Commons Debates Canada Supreme Courts


Home & Consumer Information

Last Updated 2013/12/16

Websites ConsumerSearch Features product reviews from a variety of quality sources. EnerGuide The Canadian government’s guide to energy-efficient appliances, heating and cooling, and more.    


Health, Medical & Wellness

Last Updated 2014/03/31

Library Databases Our databases have lots of information from trusted sources that’s typically not available through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into some of them. Consumer Health Complete – Health information for the general public, patients and health professionals. Includes mainstream medical information and holistic/alternative health information from popular and professional


Genealogy

Last Updated 2014/12/09

Ancestory.com Library Edition (In-Library use only) – provides genealogical and historical research capabilities. With more than 5 billion names in over 4,600 databases, includes census, military, court, land, and probate records; vital and church records; directories; and passenger lists. Points to the Past – Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons,


Citizenship & Multilingual Resources

Last Updated 2013/12/04

NewToBC – Find out services, programs and resources avaialable to newcomers at www.newtobc.ca, a website offered by BC Libraries to help you succeed in your new community. ELSANet – English Language Services for Adults (ELSA) lists English language programs in BC and provides links of interest to ESL students and instructors. KnowBC Online (In-Library use


Business & Careers

Last Updated 2014/03/31

Library Databases Our databases have lots of information from trusted sources that’s typically not available through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log in. Business Source Premier – Includes more than 2,000 business journals covering topics such as marketing, management, accounting and finance, as well as information about specific trades, industries and professions.


Book Recommendations

Last Updated 2014/03/31

NoveList – Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages.  Video Tutorial [5 minutes]   GoodReads – Includes reader reviews, trivia,


Auto, Truck & Small Engine Repair

Last Updated 2018/05/23

Automate covers more than 35,000 vehicles from 1945 to present. Content includes nearly 857,000 drawings and step-by-step photographs, approximately 99,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer, over 158,600 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing, specifications & maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide & Estimator, AutoIQ.   Small Engine Repair