Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.
Ancestry Library Edition – (In-library only) Start your genealogy search here.
Auto Repair Source – Online auto repair for vehicles dated 1951 to today.
BC Codes (In-Library use only) – The current BC Codes provide the minimum requirements for a safely built environment and are the product of a unique partnership between industry practitioners, construction technology experts, and provincial regulators.
BC Laws – Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
British Columbia Statistics – BCStats is the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia. They offer data services, business and economic statistics, labour and social statistics, population.
Canadian NewsStream – Canadian Newsstream provides users with unmatched access to current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from over 360 news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format. Canadian Newsstream content is updated daily so researchers always have timely access to new information.
Clicklaw – General legal information provided by the Legal Services Society of BC.
Explora Canada – Information for students of all ages on a wide variety of topics, from history and current events to science and technology. Search a variety of sources such as magazines, encyclopedias, primary source documents and more.
Explora Primary Schools – A research interface for K-5. Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research.
GALE Courses – GALE Courses offers a wide range of highly interactive, instructor led courses that you can take entirely online. As a library card holder in good standing, you are entitled to these courses free! Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month.
Federal Courts ReportsGreenFILE – GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment.
HealthLinkBC – British Columbians have trusted health information with just a phone call or a click away with HealthLinkBC.
Just three numbers – 8 1 1 – on the phone or online at www.healthlinkbc.ca means easy access to non-emergency health information.
KnowBC (In-Library use only) – Thousands of entries, photos, illustrations, and multimedia covering BC-related information.
NoveList – Looking for a good book? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas, and reviews. Video Tutorial [5 minutes]
Points to the Past – Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more. For research, teaching and learning.
Public Health Agency of Canada – Health information for everybody.
Small Business Accelerator – This is curated by professional business librarians and is a reliable gateway to freely available business information, education, and assistance that is both current and trustworthy.
Small Engine Repair Reference Centre – Clymer manuals containing thousands of maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines. Routine maintenance and more extensive repairs for motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more are covered. Video Tutorial [3 minutes]
TumbleBooks – TumbleBooks is a curated database of children’s e-books. TumbleBooks has over 1100 titles for grades K-6, and includes unique animated, talking picture books, read-along chapter books, national geographic videos, non-fiction books, playlists, as well as books in Spanish and French. Plus, the collection features Graphic Novels and Math Stories!
Teen Book Cloud – TeenBookCloud is an online database of eBooks and educator resources perfect for middle or high schoolers. It offers a robust selection of Graphic Novels, Enhanced Novels, eBooks, classic literature, National Geographic videos, educator resources, and audiobooks. The collection is available online around the clock. No downloads, no waiting! If you can access the internet, you can be reading, watching, or listening to fantastic content.
Vehicle Safety and Inspection Online – (In-Library use only) – Is produced by the Queen’s Printer in partnership with Ministry of Transportation provides current access to vehicle safety and inspection standards and related BC legislation.